Frequently Asked Questions
We are located at 233 W. 6th St in the County Office Building on the second floor. Our office hours are 8:30 am to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday, closed Federal Holidays. For your convenience, we have have a deposit box at the back entrance to the County Office Building.
This commonly happens if you have recently refinanced or have in any way changed the information on your tax bill. We suggest you immediately forward the tax bill to your lender. To correct our records, please forward in writing the name of your lender, their address and your loan number.
Normally at the time of closing, taxes are pro-rated to the new owner and the seller is no longer responsible for the payment of any further taxes. Please forward the bill to the new owner OR contact our office so that we can prepare another bill to be sent to the responsible taxpayer.
In the State of Ohio, real estate taxes are collected one year behind. Therefore, in 2010 we collect for 2009, 2011 we collect for 2010, etc.
You will need to check your closing statement or with your closing agent to determine if you are to pay this bill but normally taxes are pro-rated to the new owner at the time of the sale. Any tax that comes due after your purchase date then becomes your liability to pay.
It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to notify the Treasurer’s office of any address change for billing purposes. Please inform our office in writing (P.O. Box 420, Marysville, OH 43040), by email (firstname.lastname@example.org) or by fax (937-645-3094).
Tax bills are always mailed in January and June. Please contact our office immediately if you do not receive your tax statement.
As required by the Ohio Revised, the Auditor’s office establishes a market value for all properties in Union County.
The full year real estate tax is then computed by first multiplying the assessed value (35% of the market value) by the total tax rate of the district in which the property is located. This gross tax is then multiplied by the district reduction factor (either residential/agricultural OR commercial/industrial) to determine the reduction credit. The reduction credit is subtracted from the gross tax giving you the net tax amount.
Residential and Agricultural properties receive a 10% credit from the net amount.
Owner occupied property is eligible for an additional 2 ½% credit on the assessed value of the home and the homesite (up to one acre).
Taxpayers eligible for the homestead exemption (applications can be obtained at the County Auditor’s office) will have an additional credit.
The net tax, minus all credits and plus any special assessments, is the balance owed for the full year.
No. The Ohio Revised Code states that the Postmark or Postal Cancellation of the due date is considered to be timely paid. A private metered date of the due date is not sufficient. We are required to use the US Postal Cancellation date.
After the first half due date, 10% of the unpaid current tax is added as penalty. If payment is received within 10 days of the due date, 5% of the penalty is removed.
After the second half due date, 10% of any unpaid current tax/penalty is added as penalty. If payment is received within 10 days of the due date, 5% of the penalty is removed.
On August 1 of each year, interest as mandated by State Law (refer to tax rate sheet) is charged only on the prior taxes due.
On December 1 of each year, the balance of interest is charged against the total amount due.
A delinquent bill is mailed in late September, early October. If the tax is not paid and has just gone delinquent, your name will appear in the Delinquent Tax List that is published in the local paper. If the tax is not paid by the next November, it is certified to the County Prosecutor to start foreclosure actions.
Yes. You may enter into a written contract with the County Treasurer that will allow you to pay your delinquent tax in installments and at the same must keep your current tax paid. Once you initiate a contract, interest & penalty are held in escrow. When your contract is paid off, the interest/penalty amounts are removed. If you default on your contract, the interest/penalty held in escrow are added back to your taxes.
Yes. We now accept VISA, Master Card, American Express and Discover or you may pay by eCheck. Payment can only be made online or by automated phone system. The icon you can click on is located on our home page, the Auditor's home page and on the County's main home page. You may also pay by the automated phone system by calling (877) 814-8230.
Payment by credit/debit cards will incur a convenience fee of 2.5%. Minimum charge is $2.50. Payment by electronic check will incur a convenience fee of $1.50. These fees are not paid to the Government Entity; they are paid to Point & Pay for processing the transaction. The County does not profit from this convenience fee.
If you enroll in our Real Estate Tax Escrow Program, you can make monthly payments on your taxes versus the semi yearly method. For further information, please contact our office at email@example.com.
The actual payment date changes from year to year but the first half is usually due the mid part of February and the second half is due the mid part of July.