Notary Public Information

Search:

Notary Public Information

Becoming a Notary Public

To become a Notary Public in Union County, Ohio, you must be a resident of Union County and be at least 18 years of age. You may not apply to become a notary if you have been convicted of a felony.

The first step to becoming a Notary Public in Union County is to purchase a Notary packet at the Union County Law Library located at 128 South Main Street in the Union County building. The cost per packet is $25.00 and acceptable forms of payment include cash or check. Checks must be made payable to “The Union County Bar Association”. 

A valid driver’s license or photo I.D. must be presented to receive a packet. Packets will not be mailed and the person seeking their notary commission must be physically present to receive their packet.  

Notary Examinations

After receiving a notary packet, you must take an examination administered by the Law Librarian in the Union County Law Library.  Examinations must be taken within 90 days of receiving the notary packet.

Examinations are held the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of every month from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. Please allow at least 1 hour to take the exam. Exams will not be administered after 10:30 a.m.

All of the materials received in the packet may be used for the test.

After successfully passing the test, two applications will be completed, one of which will be mailed to the Secretary of State Notary Commission. This application requires a $15.00 check or money order payable to “SOS/Notary”. 

 


Notary Examination Dates

2016

 

January 6 & 20

February 3 & 17

March 2 & 16

April 6 & 20

May 4 & 18

June 1 & 15

July 6 & 20

August 3 & 17

September 7 & 21

October 5 & 19

November 2 & 16

December 7 & 21

 
Receiving your Commission

Two to three weeks after passing the examination, you will receive a certificate from the State of Ohio. Bring this certificate, along with the $6.00 filing fee, to the Clerk of Courts Office located in Room B 11 in the Union County Courthouse.

The Clerk of Court’s Office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. All forms of payments are accepted.

You must file your certificate with the Clerk of Courts or you cannot legally notarize documents.

After filing your commission, you may purchase a Notary Seal at any Office Supply store and begin notarizing.

Notary Renewal

Notary commissions expire every five years and you must renew your commission to continue notarizing documents. To renew your commission, you must visit the Union County Law Library and fill out two applications, one goes to the Union County Bar Association and requires a $15.00 fee which may be cash or check. The second application is sent to the Secretary of State and requires a $15.00 check.

If your commission has been expired for more than five years, you must retake the notary examination to renew your notary commission.

Once you receive your commission in the mail, follow the above steps to file it with the Clerk of Courts.

Do NOT notarize documents after your notary commission expires.